How to Stop ‘Microsoft Edge is being used for sharing’

You can quickly stop or disable the ‘Microsoft edge is being used for sharing’ pop-up that appears while closing the Edge browser. Here’s how.

One of the best things Microsoft has done in a while is launching the all-new Edge browser based on the Chromium browser. Even though the older Edge browser is pretty good, the new one is better and even competes with the Google Chrome browser when it comes to features, web compatibility, and new technologies. In terms of speed and battery life, the new Edge Chromium browser beats every other browser.

Like with any browser, Edge has a built-in Share function. It allows you to share a web page with your friends and family quickly. Due to this new feature, some Edge users started seeing the “Microsoft Edge is being used for sharing. If you close Microsoft Edge, some items might not be shared.” pop-up message while closing the Edge browser. Some background share action is preventing you from closing the Edge browser right away, as you can guess from the message. Until you click the “Close anyway” button, the Edge browser won’t close.

Microsoft edge is being used for sharing message

Generally, this pop-up is not that big of a deal. After all, you can close it with just a single click. However, if you constantly see the “Microsoft Edge is being used for sharing” message, it can be a pain in the neck to close it manually. Thankfully, you can quickly stop the “Microsoft Edge is being used for sharing” pop-up from appearing ever again.

In this quick and straightforward Microsoft Edge guide, let me show you the steps to stop or disable the “Microsoft Edge is being used for sharing” message in the Edge browser.

Stop “Microsoft edge is being used for sharing” pop-up

To disable or stop the Edge browser from showing the “Microsoft Edge is being used for sharing” message, you have to disable the Share function. Here is how to do it.

  1. Open the Edge browser.
  2. Click on the Menu (…) icon.
  3. Select the “Settings” option.
  4. Select” Appearance” on the sidebar.
  5. Find and turn off the “Show share button” option.
  6. Restart the Edge browser.

Below are the same steps in a bit more detail:

First, open the Microsoft Edge browser. You can do that by clicking on the Edge icon on the taskbar or searching for it in the Start menu. After opening the browser, click the Menu (…) icon on the top right corner and select the “Settings” option.

On the Settings page, select “Appearance” on the sidebar. On the right page, scroll down. Next, find and turn off the “Show share button” option.

disable or stop Microsoft edge is being used for sharing message

After that, close the Edge browser and re-open it to make sure the changes are applied.

That is all. You should no longer see the “Microsoft Edge is being used for sharing” pop-up message from now on.

I hope that helps.

If you are stuck or need some help, comment below, and I will try to help as much as possible.

Related: How to change themes in Microsoft Edge browser.

2 thoughts on “How to Stop ‘Microsoft Edge is being used for sharing’”

  1. Avatar for Stacia

    I use Microsoft Edge Browser, but it has been showing the wrong location. I got several messages that I was logging in from a State I do not or ever lived in. I worried me, but I know the logins were me.

Leave a Comment

Scroll to Top